[Logo] TCC discussion forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

Error with NodeMCU : 'class Stream' has no member named 'availableForWrite' RSS feed
Forum Index » tcMenu Designer UI
Author Message
rtully


Joined: Oct 4, 2019
Messages: 10
Offline
I keep getting this error when compiling the code for esp8266. I havn't added any of my own code yet just the output from the designer app.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 532
Offline
Hi there, I'm assuming that you've selected Serial transport for remote control. Up until now, I don't think anyone has used Serial on these devices, most menu's up till now have used WiFi.

This seems to be because the ESP8266 Stream.h class is lagging significantly behind the true Arduino implementation.

I'll raise a bug report for the designer UI to conditionally change this to use "available" for ESP8266 boards (and I'll check ESP32 while I'm at it). There's a patch release to upgrade IoAbstraction with new features due soon, I'll add this to that release.

This is unfortunate because the semantics of the two methods are very different and it means on lower speed serial connections with a lot of updates (100-1000 per second range), you could risk locking up the board when serial blocks because it can't write. Although this is unlikely in most applications to be fair. I've tested the protocol down to 9600 baud, and it doesn't even saturate in most normal cases.

One possible tempory workaround (that needs to be repeated after designer code generation):

Open SerialTransport.h

change line:

virtual bool available()     { return serialPort->availableForWrite();}


To:

virtual bool available()     { return serialPort->available();}
rtully


Joined: Oct 4, 2019
Messages: 10
Offline
Thanks, I actually selected "ethernet control over esp8266 wifi" not serial communication. Will try the workaround while waiting for the updates. Cheers.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 532
Offline
See https://github.com/davetcc/tcMenu/issues/61. This will be fixed in the upcoming patch release. I've got an ESP32 and an ESP8266 to hand, so I'll generate menus on each after putting the designer UI change in place.

As an aside, the number of boards I've built up trying to test different functions is quite considerable smilie
rtully


Joined: Oct 4, 2019
Messages: 10
Offline
Thanks, that's a great help to get me on the way. I can only imagine the amount of different hardware possibilities for testing. I appreciate the time and effort.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 532
Offline
Can you check in your project if you have SerialTransport.cpp / .h in there?

It's the only place in the project that availableForWrite exists.

If so, you could have inadvertently chosen serial at some point. It doesn't delete the plugin files if you change from one to the other.

If you're sure you are not using the Serial connector, you can probably go ahead and remove SerialTransport.h / cpp if they are there. If it turns out you are using them, the designer would put them back for you anyway.

Thanks,
Dave
rtully


Joined: Oct 4, 2019
Messages: 10
Offline
ahhh. Thank you, that explains everything, i made some messy tests in the beginning and presumed it would change everything if i re outputted the code from the designer. Perfect. Thanks so much, i won't be using serial as i need that for other components in the project anyway.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 532
Offline
Great, thanks for confirming, I'll fix the serial class in the next release as it should work.

There's an open issue for removing existing plugin source code when no longer in use, but the issue is, how can the designer do it safely.

My current thinking is to make a list of all the plugins when the designer is loaded, and if they change then offer to remove or rename any files that are no longer needed.
rtully


Joined: Oct 4, 2019
Messages: 10
Offline
Sounds like a good idea as it stumped me for a few days and couldn't find it documented anywhere. Some sort of plugin final check would do. Thanks again.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 532
Offline
Thanks agreed that this is not well documented, I'm going to try and implement an initial pass at this in 1.3.5.

I'll update the documentation around plugins a bit more once I've got this change in there.

See https://github.com/davetcc/tcMenu/issues/30 which has been moved to 1.3.5
 
Forum Index » tcMenu Designer UI
Go to:   
Mobile view
Powered by JForum 2.7.0 © 2020 JForum Team • Maintained by Andowson Chang and Ulf Dittmer

This site uses cookies to analyse traffic, serve ads by Google AdSense (non-personalized in EEA/UK), and to record consent. We also embed Twitter, Youtube and Disqus content on some pages, these companies have their own privacy policies.

Our privacy policy applies to all pages on our site

Should you need further guidance on how to proceed: External link for information about cookie management.